[wpgdprc "By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website."]

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

    New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission

    1 Centre Street
    New York, NY 10007
    (212) 669-7700

    The New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, or LPC, is the municipal government agency charged with designating historic landmarks and districts in the city. The commission, established in 1965, consists of an 11-member board appointed by the mayor. Mayor Robert F. Wagner established the commission in response to the pace of demolition of historically significant buildings in the city, notably the old Pennsylvania Station. The new agency was credited with preserving Grand Central Terminal, which was also slated to be replaced by a skyscraper. By law, the commission must represent various stakeholders, and these include at least three architects, a historian, a city planner or landscape architect, a realtor, and at least one resident of each of the five boroughs. Ten of the commissioners receive no salary. The mayor designates the commissions chairman and vice-chairman. In 2014, Mayor Bill de Blasio appointed Meenakshi Srinivasan as both chair and commissioner. She replaced Robert Tierney, who had served as commission chairman since 2003. -TA

    New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, Chairman
    1 Centre Street, 9th Floor, North, New York, NY
    Robert B. Tierney is the former chairman of the New York City Landmarks...