Halstead, Brown Harris Stevens win big at REBNY deal of the year awards

TRD New York /
Oct.October 25, 2012 11:30 PM

Sister companies Halstead Property and Brown Harris Stevens almost swept the board tonight at the Real Estate Board of New York’s 24th annual residential deal of the year awards gala. The companies won all but one award at the event, which took place at the Metropolitan Pavilion at 125 West 18th Street.

Elise Ehrlich of Halstead Property won the title of Rookie of the Year, while Nicholas Palance of Brown Harris Stevens Residential Sales and Ann Ferguson of Klara Madlin Real Estate together took first prize in the residential sales category. Adrian Thompkins and Shebrelle Hunter-Green of Halstead took second prize; Elayne Reimer of Halstead Property took third.

For rentals, the deal of the year award was given to a broker from Prudential Douglas Elliman, William J. McBurney, Jr.

In perhaps the biggest moment of the night however, Stephen Kliegerman, president of the development marketing unit of Terra Holdings, the parent company of both Halstead and BHS, took home the Henry Forster Award for lifetime achievement. Kliegerman, the former executive director of new development marketing at Halstead Property, was appointed head of Terra Development marketing in June 2011. He has been in the business for 23 years.

Approached by The Real Deal following the ceremony, Kliegerman said he was surprised and humbled by the award. “I guess if you spend 20-plus years giving your heart and soul to the industry, it gets recognized,” he said.

A runway show featuring the designs of fashion star Cesar Galindo was a precursor to the awards ceremony. A who’s who of residential real estate’s most powerful brokers and firm heads were in attendance, including the Corcoran Group’s Pam Liebman, Elliman’s Dottie Herman, Hall Wilkie of Brown Harris Stevens, Diane Ramirez of Halstead, Andrew Barrocas of MNS, Andrew Heiberger of Town Residential and Eddie Shapiro of Nestseekers.

Also present was Kent Swig, the owner and co-chairman of Terra Development Holdings.

Related Articles

John Banks

High expectations: A look at John Banks’ 4 years at REBNY

John Banks

John Banks to step down as REBNY president

REBNY Awards

Newmark Knight Frank wins REBNY retail award for Alamo Drafthouse deal in FiDi

REBNY pivots on politics; Newark sues NYC for sending homeless

REBNY pivots on politics; Newark sues NYC for sending homeless

Jim Whelan (Credit: Axel Dupeux)

REBNY starts singing a different tune

Stephen Levin, REBNY's Jim Whelan and Brad Lander (Credit: Getty Images)

The bill that won’t die: Will commercial rent control finally pass?

From left: JLL’s Bob Knakal, Brown Harris Stevens' John Burger and Compass’ Adelaide Polsinelli (Credit: Getty Images and iStock)

Real estate veterans will get schooled by this new law

Jim Whelan (Credit: Axel Dupeux)

REBNY’s James Whelan: “We have to do things differently”