REBNY “ingenious deal” nominees run the gamut of commercial brokerages

TRD New York /
Mar.March 05, 2013 04:00 PM

In advance of the Real Estate Board of New York’s annual “Most Ingenious Deal of the Year Awards” ceremony April 23, the trade association has released a list of the 19 submissions it received for the honors.

The nineteen entries represent a “significant increase” over the number of submissions REBNY normally receives, President Steve Spinola said in a statement. Only three of the deals will receive honors in the categories of finance, leasing and sales.

In the sales category, the following brokers are being considered: Ira Schuman, Daniel Horowitz and David Carlos of Studley for a deal at 20 East End Avenue; Nat Rockett of Cushman & Wakefield for a deal at 88 Leonard Street; Mary Ann Tighe and Gregory Tosko of CBRE for a deal at 3 Columbus Circle; Christopher Owles of Sinvin Realty for a deal at 144 Spring Street; and Alan Cohen and Gregg Schenker of ABS Partners Real Estate for a deal at 525 Broadway.

The following nominees are being considered in the leasing category: Bill Harvey and Daniel Segal of Newmark Grubb Knight Frank for a deal at 101 Sixth Avenue; Moshe Sukenik, Barry Gosin and Chris Mongeluzo of NGKF for Chadbourne & Parke’s lease at 1301 Sixth Avenue; Mitchell Konsker, Paul Glickman and Matthew Astrachan of Jones Lang LaSalle for 11 Times Square; David Falk and Kyle Ciminelli of NGKF for 33 Beekman Street; NGKF’s Falk, Jason Greenstein and Frank Kajon for Havas’ deal at 200 and 205 Hudson Street and 200 Madison Avenue; Gosin, Brian Waterman and Romel Canete of NGKF for a Morgan Stanley lease at One New York Plaza; Duncan McCuaig for representing owner Brookfield Office Properties in the same deal at One New York Plaza; Michael Laginestra, Scott Gottlieb and Andrew Sussman of CBRE for a Viacom deal at 1515 Broadway; and Ben Friedland and Silvio Petriello for deals at 7 Times Square.

Finally, the nominees in the finance category are as follows: Evan Pariser of HFF for a deal at 837 Washington Street; Scott Singer and Jeffrey Moroch of the Singer & Bassuk Organization for a transaction at 50 Oceana Drive West; Whitney Wilcox and Michael Tepedino of HFF for 1515 Broadway; Shawn Rosenthal of the Ackman-Ziff Real Estate Group for 452 Fifth Avenue.; and Chris Lama of NY Urban for 542-580 Second Avenue. – Katherine Clarke

Related Articles

John Banks

High expectations: A look at John Banks’ 4 years at REBNY

John Banks

John Banks to step down as REBNY president

REBNY Awards

Newmark Knight Frank wins REBNY retail award for Alamo Drafthouse deal in FiDi

Jay Martin, James Whelan and Joe Strasburg

Rent-pocalypse 2.0: Real estate industry reacts to tenant demands

Senator Brian Kavanagh and REBNY president Jim Whelan (inset) (Credit: Getty Images and Facebook)

Legislature eyes changes to “just cause eviction” bill

From left: REBNY president Jim Whelan, the Downtown Alliance chairman Ric Clark, and the NYC Hospitality Alliance president Melba Wilson (Credit: Facebook, iStock, Melba's Restaurant)

Business groups seize chance to amend commercial waste bill

Hector Figueroa (Credit: Getty Images)

REBNY honors late union president Hector Figueroa with humanitarian award

Brokers hold signs that read, “Don’t cap my income” and “Agents are tenants too.”

“Agents are tenants too,” claim brokers blasting bills to reduce rent costs