Miami-Dade commissioners delay vote on short-term rentals

The proposed ordinance would impose new rules on properties listed on Airbnb and similar platforms

TRD MIAMI /
Jul.July 08, 2017 09:00 AM

Miami-Dade County Commissioner Sally Heyman

County commissioners delayed until Sept. 7 their vote on a proposed ordinance that would spread a regulatory net over short-term rental properties in unincorporated Miami-Dade County.

Commissioner Sally Heyman proposed the ordinance, which would require hosts on Airbnb and other home-sharing platforms to obtain a certificate of use and a business tax receipt, among other requirements.

The proposed ordinance also would require such home-sharing platforms as Airbnb, HomeAway and VRBO to notify Miami-Dade hosts of their duties under the ordinance, to maintain compliance records and to provide any information the county requests with respect to possible violations of law at rental properties, and to publish listings for Miami-Dade hosts only if they have a valid certificate of use.

Neisen Kasdin, an attorney for Airbnb and a partner of law firm Akerman LLP, told the commissioners that parts of the proposed ordinance conflict with federal and state law.

For example, the ordinance would violate state law by requiring that hosts be present at their short-term rental properties when guests are there, or reside in the properties for more than six months a year, Kasdin said.

The ordinance also would require hosts whose properties are within 2,500 feet of a school to ensure that a prospective guest isn’t registered as a sexual offender or a sexual predator.

Heyman’s proposed ordinance also would mandate that hosts collect and remit state and local taxes on short-term rentals and obtain a vacation rental license from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

Her proposal additionally would set a maximum number of guests at short-term rental properties and would require hosts to keep a register listing the names of all guests and the dates of their stays.

Fines for violating the ordinance would start at $100 for a first offense, rising to $2,500 for the third offense within a 24-month period. [Miami Herald]Mike Seemuth


Related Articles

arrow_forward_ios
Airbnb operators cash In On Super Bowl LIV

South Florida Airbnb hosts cash in on Super Bowl LIV

Harvey Hernandez (Credit: Airbnb and iStock)

Harvey Hernandez fights back against Airbnb

Airbnb hosts gear up for Super Bowl LIV

Airbnb hosts score 34K bookings for Super Bowl LIV — more than for Art Basel

Harvey Hernandez and Michael Patrizio

Newgard hires Terra exec as SVP of development

From left: Andrea and Renzo Rosso

Diesel family dishes on Wynwood condo project

Daily Digest Miami

Compass sweetens agent stock program for 2020, affordable housing project in downtown Fort Lauderdale lands $27M loan: Daily digest

Miami Beach Mayor Dan Gelber and Natalie Nichols home at 1531 Stillwater Drive (Credit: Getty Images)

Miami-Dade judge strikes down Miami Beach short-term rental ban

Construction of downtown Hollywood high-rise may start soon

Construction of downtown Hollywood high-rise may start soon

arrow_forward_ios
Loading...